top of page
Search

5 Reasons to Stop saying "Good Job" - Response


After reading the Article Five Reasons to Stop Saying “Good Job!” by Alfie Kohn, I have to reconsider my perspective on praising children for their actions. One rather intriguing point that Kohn makes is that consistent praise can actually cause a child to lose interest in that activity. According to Kohn’s article, praising a child after completing an activity such a drawing, dance, or a project can cause the child to no longer be interested in the task, but instead, they will now focus on how to obtain more praise. I found this point particularly surprising, as I originally thought that saying “Good Job” would encourage the activity. However, Kohn’s theory of this reward system backfiring seems quite valid, and I would have to agree that too much praise could cause a child to forget the activity and refocus on gaining approval. Another surprising point was that praise can cause lower achievement in children. According to the article, praise can cause a child to underperform when repeating the task, due to pressure, a loss of interest, and a focus on gaining praise. I can personally relate to Kohn’s idea that praise can cause pressure on a child to do well, especially in a musical context. Another interesting point Kohn makes is the idea that sometimes, no response is the best reaction. According to Kohn, there is no valid reason why a child needs praise to continue a behaviour. Perhaps not giving a child a verbal reward would actually help them to continue that behaviour, and not lose interest or enjoyment.

Although I felt that Kohn made some very sensible points, I do have a few issues with the article to address. Firstly, Kohn argues that praise can cause a child to feel manipulated, because by praising behaviour we are taking advantage of a child’s dependance. I disagree with this idea, as I personally do not think that praising a child will cause a sense of manipulation, but rather a desire to receive more praise. Another issue is the idea that saying “Good Job” takes away a child’s ability to think for themselves. Although Kohn makes some interesting points, how can we be sure that saying “good job” will steal a child’s pleasure away from their own competence in the task? I think this is a bit of a bold assumption for Kohn to make, because it seems to me that in some circumstances, praising would actually elevate their joy in their accomplishment. Another issue I have with the article is Kohn’s idea that using “You did it” as a substitute for”good job”. I personally feel like “You did it” is a bit vague, as well as a form of praise that is essentially the same as saying “good job”. I think that a better approach would be Kohn’s next suggestion, to propose a question such as “How long did it take you to draw that?” or “I see you used a lot of green in this drawing”. I think acknowledging the child’s completion of the task is almost the same as rewarding it - instead, I think a parent/teacher should act interested in what exactly the child has done.

Kohn’s article definitely showed me a new perspective on the purpose of praising children, and the damaging effects it can have on child development. Although I did not agree with everything Kohn had to say, I definitely thought the author made some very fair points as to some of the adverse effects of saying “Good job”.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Response to the Tobias Article

Starting points: • How are our students, their peers, and the general public engaging with music outside of school contexts? I think that it is safe to say that music is a part of almost everyone’s li

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page