top of page
Search

Influential Teacher Assignment

Influential Teacher Assignment

My teacher: Noreen Greene Fraize

For my Influential Teacher Assignment, I decided to interview my private vocal instructor, Noreen Greene Fraize. Noreen was my teacher throughout high school, and has inspired me in many ways. I credit Noreen for my vocal success, and her ability to show me what I was capable of vocally and personally. Noreen lives in St. John’s, Newfoundland, which is my hometown. Moving to Ontario was a big adjustment for me, and leaving Noreen behind to pursue my musical career at Western was also a challenge. I still keep in contact with Noreen on a weekly basis, so I automatically knew who I would choose to interview for this assignment.

The first thing I asked Noreen was who inspired her to teach? Noreen told me that growing up, she had an amazing piano teacher, who really changed her life. He was an Auschwitz survivor, and Noreen saw that he changed a lot of lives through his teaching and his story. Meanwhile, Noreen was taking lessons from what she describes as a “mediocre” voice teacher. Through this contrast, Noreen realized that there was a lot of holes in the music teaching community in St. John’s. She realized that there were ways to teach children how to sing well, without being mean or condescending. This is what inspired Noreen to pursue music teaching.

Next, I asked Noreen why she decided to start teaching. Noreen told me that growing up, she always taught her younger sister how to sing, using the knowledge she had learnt through her own lessons. She realized that she was a good instructor, and this was something that she kept at the back of her mind throughout the years. During her time in music school at Memorial University of Newfoundland, Noreen realized some of her own friends were being taught poorly or harshly. During this time period, she met a fantastic Welsh tenor, who showed her that it was possible to teach well, and mold a voice into something very special. Noreen realized that teaching was something she loved to do, and teachers have the power to change lives in a positive way. This is the reason Noreen decided to start teaching full time.

I then asked Noreen what are some challenges she faces in her career. Noreen told me for her, the biggest challenge is when she gives her all, but her students do not. She explained that one of the hardest things to watch is a truly talented voice with so much potential, but the individual does not put in the work required to become a great singer. Noreen is very passionate about music, and she says it is difficult when she pours her heart and soul into teaching, but her students do not reciprocate. Another challenge Noreen has is the reverse - a student who is giving it their all, but is just not vocally talented. She tells me that she finds it very heartbreaking when she witnesses someone who is passionate and dedicated to vocal performance, but does not have a voice good enough to compete in this very competitive field of vocal performance. Noreen says that this is, in her mind, the greatest challenge she faces as a private studio teacher.

I proceeded to ask Noreen if she loves her job. I was not surprised to discover the answer was an absolutely yes. Noreen told me she has always loved music, and sharing it with the next generation of musicians is something that is very special to her. Noreen is a very dedicated member of the music community, along with her daughter, Alanna Fraize. Alanna has recently graduated from the Manhattan School of Music in New York City, where she studied with renowned Canadian mezzo soprano, Joan Patenaude-Yarnell. Alanna told me that her mother’s love for music was a huge factor in her decision to pursue operatic performance. This is evident in Noreen’s teaching. While I was a student of Noreen’s, she would always go above and beyond to find opportunities for me to sing. Noreen is the reason why I decided to pursue music, and encouraged me to get out there and show the world my voice. Because of Noreen, I decided to apply, and was later accepted to Boston Conservatory’s VCI program, where I was able to meet other musicians over the summer and learn from some very renowned professors. Noreen’s love of music is clear in everything she does, and in those around her.

I then asked Noreen what are some of the pros and cons of being a music teacher. She started by telling me the pros. For Noreen, the biggest pro is being able to help people. Noreen has touched her students not only musically, but personally. If any student was ever going through a hard time at home or at school, etc, Noreen is always there to talk to. She has shown so many people to the power of music, and that in itself can be the greatest way to help others. Noreen told me another pro is getting to meet young people who are interested in music, and show them the possibilities that music can bring to them. Another pro is that with her job, she is still able to perform, which is one of Noreen’s greatest passions. Noreen often performs at her local church, where she holds the position of Choral Director. Noreen explains to me that singing is such a huge part of her life, and being a music teacher allows her to still do that while helping others.

Another pro for Noreen is being able to help fix bad technique. Noreen shared with me that one thing she really loves about her job is analyzing a person’s voice, and recognizing what needs to be changed or fixed in order to produce an ideal sound. This is something that Noreen has helped me with in the past. Before I started my studies with Noreen, I had a vocal teacher who had taught me some damaging techniques that were not suitable for my voice type. I am so thankful that Noreen was able to help me correct these issues.

A con Noreen faces in her career is people not understanding the value of her work. She says often people do not understand the point or “purpose” of her job, and sometimes even resent paying her for her lessons. Noreen explained to me that some people will just never understand the value of a musical education, or how much time she puts into helping a student grow vocally.

I asked Noreen what might she be doing if she was not teaching? Noreen told me she would most definitely be performing. She told me she would never want to pursue something non-music related. If she was not a music teacher, Noreen would be performing full time with her local choirs and church positions, or possibly take on more choral director roles.

I asked Noreen what she considers her teaching style to be. She told me the biggest part of her teaching style is listening. She told me as a music teacher, to “always listen before you open your mouth”. She told me it is most important to observe what is going on in the voice before you start suggesting techniques. She also mentioned how important it is to not take everything your teacher suggests to heart. If something does not resonate with you, it is important for the student to recognize this and use their own judgement before sticking to a technique that might not be suitable for their voice.

After talking to Noreen, I feel like I understand her more as a teacher, and also as a person. Noreen has had such a huge influence on me and my musical career, and learning about her path as a music teacher has really helped me to understand how she became the person she is today.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Response to the Tobias Article

Starting points: • How are our students, their peers, and the general public engaging with music outside of school contexts? I think that it is safe to say that music is a part of almost everyone’s li

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page